The First Step Is Always The Hardest…..

32698-Just-Take-The-First-Step

No one ever said this journey would be easy.  And if they had, they would be liars.

Once the truth of my husband’s indiscretions had finally trickled their way out and I was no longer spending most night’s crying myself to sleep while curled in a ball on the bathroom floor, the logistics associated with the “recovery” process began to present themselves.  I started to focus on all the hurdles I would have to face in the near future, namely, the holidays.

A few weeks back, I spoke of my apprehension surrounding our upcoming anniversary.  A day I now refer to as “October Fool’s Day.”  This would be the first (of many) days which would truly test my strength …. and commitment to this exhausting journey.

Well, it is now October 2nd and my corpse isn’t writing this post so it’s safe to assume that I survived the first anniversary (of the day we made vows to each other which he broke) since learning of his affairs.  It wasn’t easy, but October 1st is now safely behind me.  They say the first step is always the hardest and I’ve crossed the first hurdle as we embark on the holiday season.

For those of you longing for me to tell you that this anniversary was filled with surprises, romance and newly forged memories….. sorry to burst your bubble but it was an awful day, likely because I wouldn’t have had it any other way.

I no longer feel that the day we were married or our marriage leading up to the discovery of his antics are anything worth celebrating.  October 1st is not a special day, but rather a painful reminder of a marriage filled with lies, betrayal and selfish hurtful acts.  Why would anyone want to celebrate, let alone acknowledge, a day like that?

I woke up hyper-aware of the date and my mood aligned with my feelings about the day from the minute I opened my eyes.  I went about my morning like any other…. except for the fact that I was filled with contempt for my husband and our marriage.  He did not mention the day as I got ready for work so I figured maybe he had forgotten as well, or was choosing to pretend it didn’t exist like I was.

And then IT happened…. I came into the kitchen and saw a red envelope on the counter with the words “To My Wife” on it.  I know it was just a harmless card.  But it was a harmless card I did not want to see.  So I did what any mature adult would do in a situation such as this – I pretended not to see it and continued to get ready.

Unfortunately my plan was slightly flawed, as my husband was perceptive and persistent …. What a fitting time for him to suddenly develop those traits.  He cornered me in the hallway and presented the infamous red envelope to me in the same way I imagine he served up his penis to his whore – with complete and utter shame.

I didn’t know what to say and just blurted out “NO!”  I walked away stating that this day no longer exists and I won’t partake in it moving forward.  He sat there in silence and began to tear up as I left for work and spent the day getting mentally/emotionally  assaulted by a barrage of betrayal bullets that stupid red card fired at me.

I spoke to him via text throughout the day, having the exact conversations we’d had shortly after DDay.  Why?  How could you?  Am I only your back up since you couldn’t be with her?

Amazing how one day and one red envelope could send me back to a place I’ve come so far from over the past five months.

BUT….

The beauty of a day is that it only lasts for 24 hours and tomorrow, actually today, is a new day.  One that is NOT October 1st.

I woke up this morning feeling “normal,” or at least the new version of it these days.  I felt bad for rebuffing the card and asked if could have it.  He handed it to me and I put it in my bag.

When I got to work, I opened the card.  I don’t know if it was intentional or not, but there was no mention of the “A” word (anniversary…not affair) contained anywhere on the card which was a pleasant (and if intentional, then thoughtful) surprise.  On the front was a heart made of puzzle pieces.  The inside the card simply read “You complete me.”  He wrote a short note saying how much he loves me and is lucky to have me as a wife.  I definitely hated that red envelope a lot less on October 2nd.

I guess I have made it through the first of many challenges I will face, especially during this first year after DDay.

As a child, when excited about an upcoming day, event, trip, etc., I would countdown using the number of “sleeps” I had to endure until the BIG DAY finally arrived.  I suppose these days I live in fear of (holidays, birthdays, anniversaries) really aren’t THAT bad.  I just have to make it from one ‘sleep’ to another to survive the day and to continue on to the next step…… I just hope I don’t fall down the stairs.

627170_default

9 Comments

  1. The anniversaries are hard. The antiversaries like dday, or the day he stopped seeing her, or the last time he contacted her … those antiversaries are hard too.
    Its all fucking hard.
    And we didn’t deserve it….

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply

    1. I actually mentioned to him that our wedding anniversary basically is the beginning of a bunch of days I’d like to skip. Not just the holidays, new years, valentine’s, birthdays etc. He met the main event whore in November when she got hired and almost immediately she began coming on strong and he didn’t seem to mind (yes, I had the pleasure of reading ALL the texts). I reminded him that I now know the first day they texted, the first time the conversation turned VERY inappropriate (thanks to her drunkingly texting him – her boss- that she had spent the evening buying sex toys and visiting strip clubs while her 11 year old child was left home alone until 3 am), the first time they saw each other outside of work, the first hand hold, first hug, first kiss, first sex, first (and only) night they spent together (in vegas, also the night of their first sex), the first time he said he loved her (something he now claims to have said “just to keep her around”)…. the list goes on. You are right. It’s all soooo fucking hard and we certainly didn’t deserver it. Thank you for your support. It keeps me sane, even when I don’t want to be. xoxo

      Liked by 3 people

      Reply

  2. I have told husband that I don’t want to bother with wedding anniversaries it feels fake. I have never broken my vows but he did so there is nothing left to celebrate. He forgot this year anyway. He was telling the whore he loved her for 2 plus years of it so if he bought a card he would just be a hypocrite. It’s early days for you hun but it does get easier. In fact this week I had 3 whole days when I didn’t think about them together. That is a big step forward. I used to worry about the fact I had good days and bad days but now I just roll with it. If I wake up feeling like my heart has been ripped out, I just give in to that feeling even if it means crying all day. I am not going to hide my pain to make husband feel less guilty, not anymore. No we didn’t deserve it. Hugs to you xx

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  3. Better the truth no matter how repugnant or repulsive. We have to deal with this shit – no f**king choice. No rose tinted glasses for us anymore! It makes me sick every time I hear about a woman going after a married man. Trust me, I don’t blame them for our fuckwit husbands’ bad choices – but I do resent the fair game view they take towards another woman’s husband. Is there a shortage of men? It’s all wretched – but you sound like you are surviving the worst. It does get easier. Hugs x

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply

  4. I found out about my husband’s affair one week before out anniversary. I think I was still numb at the point, but I’m so aware of dates now. and he’s oblivious to dates. So many dates are still etched in my head, since the day I found out wasn’t as clean of break as I would have hoped or expected. I’m scared to come up through next year when I hit the dates when the affair started and then all the other dates I have in my head from this past summer. I feel like I will be in a better place by then (and feel like I’m in a good place now), but I know those will hurt. Just like it hurts when I’m cleaning our house and see pics of us at different stages in our lives. I think the unexpected moments that bring on waves of sadness are some of the most difficult.

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply

  5. I call that a success. You made it through the day and you were able to return to normal the next. Personally I feel no pressure to try and make something of our anniversary. It’s just a day. What’s really important is what I do the rest of the year. I love my husband. I get up every day and make the decision to live in a state of forgiveness. To push the bad thoughts away, focus on what is, keep moving forward. Our marriage is intact and growing stronger. Our family is together. For me, that is enough to ask. The marriage was changed forever the day he decided to accept the pursuit of the whore. HE changed it, and I don’t have to celebrate the day we made vows and promises he later shattered. Typically now (3 years later), I give him a card that’s fairly generic and vague. He gets plenty of sentiment and love on other days. But the anniversary day is ruined for good. Someday perhaps we will renew our vows. If we do, that will become the date I choose to acknowledge and celebrate.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. Geez… our “anniversary” was on the 7th of October. My husband totally forgot and when I brought it up, there were flowers and that same “you complete me card” on the dining room table. I didn’t forget and bought him an anniversary card which I found in the “support” section of the card store. It said something about getting through your tough time and I hope you feel better soon. It was the best I could do.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a comment